Hen N Chick Lane (Shilton) Proposed 30mph & 40mph Speed Limits

Oxfordshire County Council proposes to extend the existing 30mph speed limit westwards on Hen-n-Chick Lane and on the unnamed road leading southwards to the B4477 in Shilton. It is also proposed to introduce a new 40mph ‘buffer’ speed limit on Hen N Chick Lane, leading westwards to cover the junction with the unnamed road leading south-westwards (towards Cotswold Stoneyard). The proposals are being put forward as a result of road safety concerns raised by the Parish Council & the Local County Councillor - specifically it is proposed to:

  • extend the 30mph speed limit on The Hill westwards into Hen-n-Chick Lane past the Alvescot turn, and
  • thereafter introduce a 40mph seed limit for the next 160 metres, and also for 40 metres into the turn towards Cotswold Stoneyard.
  • The Alvescot road southwards for 165 meters will also be subject of 30mph. Each of these sections of road are currently unrestricted (60mph).

Objections to the proposals and other representations, specifying the grounds on which they are made, may be sent in by completing the online questionnaire, via email or in writing (quoting ref: CM/12.6.340) to the address below by 28 June 2019. The Council will consider objections and representations received in response and they may be disseminated widely for these purposes and made available to the public.

Any unresolved objections will be reported to the Council’s Cabinet meeting later in 2019. The papers for the meeting will be available on the County Council’s website about a week before the meeting.

This consultation has now closed.


  • Opened
    30 May 2019 at 08:00
  • Closed
    28 Jun 2019 at 23:59


Contact Name Christian Mauz (Technical Officer - Traffic & Road Safety)
Contact Email Address christian.mauz@oxfordshire.gov.uk
Contact Phone Number 0345 310 1111
Contact Postal Address Oxfordshire County Council
County Hall
New Road

Consultation Topic
  • Fire & public safety
  • Planning
  • Roads & transport
Target Audience
  • Oxfordshire residents
  • Councillors
Geographical Area
  • Burford and Carterton