Cowley Marsh Area (Oxford) Proposed Controlled Parking Zone (CPZ)

Following the 'informal' consultation carried out in November/December 2018 (for details click here) regarding the proposal to introduce a Controlled Parking Zone (CPZ) within the Cowley Marsh area i.e. the side roads off of Cowley Road between Magdalen Road and Marsh Road,  Oxfordshire County Council is now proposing to install a new Minimum Impact (low signage) CPZ which will help alleviate the current problems associated with commuter parking and overflow parking from adjacent Controlled Parking Zones.

The development of Controlled Parking Zones) CPZs is a key element of the County Council’s Parking Strategy, and forms part of action plans to tackle the problems of congestion identified for Oxford, as well as to improve air quality and the street environment. CPZs restrict the availability of commuter parking in residential streets and encourage commuters to find alternative means of transport both into and within the City. Supported by public transport, walking and cycling improvements, they are an essential tool in managing traffic levels and thereby reducing the effects of traffic congestion. They also ensure that cars are not parked in inappropriate or unsafe places, thereby contributing to road safety and improvements to the street environment.

The operational hours for the Zone for Residents Permit Parking will cover all days of the week but with some general 2-hour time limited (shared use) parking between 8.00am and 6.30pm; additionally in Barracks Lane by the allotment gardens some permitted 4-hour time limited and shared use parking between 8.00am and 9.30pm. Permit holders only parking will apply outside the times of operation of the permitted 2-hour and 4-hour time limited waiting.

The following roads will include parking places for permit holders (Zone Addresses) at all times on all days of the week:

Barracks Lane Cumberland Road Howard Street Reliance Way
Belvedere Road Don Stuart Place Kenilworth Avenue Ridgefield Road
Bhandari Close Drove Acre Road Leys Place Saunders Road
Catwell Close Gillians Way Milton Road Shelley Road
Cricket Road Glanville Road  Morris Crescent  Westfield Close
Whitson Place      


The above parking places will be available for non-permit holders between 8am and 6.30pm on all days of the week but restricted to 2-hour parking with no return within 2 hours. Permit holders only parking will apply between 6.30pm and 8am on all days of the week.

In Barracks Lane, some parking places on the north east side near the allotment gardens will be provided with the following provisions: All days of week 8am to 9.30pm Four-hour parking (permit holders exempt from time limit). Permit holders only parking will apply between 9.30pm and 8am on all days of the week.

Residents permits will be limited to one per resident with a maximum of two permits per property.  A resident may obtain a temporary permit for a replacement vehicle while their permanent vehicle is off the road. A person who is temporarily resident at a Zone Address for work purposes will be eligible for a resident`s permit. A resident who is temporarily resident for study purpose does not qualify.

'No Waiting at Any Time' parking restrictions (double yellow lines) will remain as currently marked, but it is proposed to introduce additional sections within the zone boundary, these will be mostly near junctions. 

NOTE: Further details can be found in the Public Notice, which is listed among the other consultation documents.

Objections to the proposals and other representations, specifying the grounds on which they are made, may be sent in by completing the online questionnaire, via email or in writing (quoting ref: AK/CM/TRO/CM) to the address below by 06 March 2020The Council will consider objections and representations received in response and they may be disseminated widely for these purposes and made available to the public.

Any unresolved objections will be reported to the Council’s Cabinet meeting due to take place on Thursday 26 March 2020 at 10am at County Hall, Oxford. This will be a public meeting at which members of the public may apply to speak, the papers for the which will be available on the County Council’s website about a week before the meeting.

This consultation has now closed and feedback is available.


  • Opened
    6 Feb 2020 at 08:00
  • Closed
    6 Mar 2020 at 23:59
  • Response Published
    10 Sep 2020


Contact Name Christian Mauz (Technical Officer - Traffic & Road Safety)
Contact Email Address
Contact Phone Number 0345 3101111
Contact Postal Address Oxfordshire County Council
County Hall
New Road

Consultation Topic
  • Economy & business
  • Planning
  • Roads & transport
Target Audience
  • Oxfordshire residents
  • Councillors
  • Businesses
  • Public sector organisations
  • Schools
  • Voluntary organisations and community groups
Geographical Area
  • Oxford City